2009 Honorary Lecturer, South and East Asia

Sponsored by Shell
[ Abstract ]    [ Biography ]    [ Itinerary ]  [ Tour photos ]  [ Recording ]

Significance of Fresnel zones
in seismic reflection prospecting

Presented by C. H. Mehta
Independent consultant
Dehradun, India

C. H. Mehta


C. H. Mehta completed his Ph.D. in elementary particle physics from University of California in 1972. After teaching physics at Bombay University for three years, he joined the Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) and retired in June 2005 as executive director and head of the Geodata Processing and Interpretation Centre (GEOPIC). As the head of GEOPIC, Mehta introduced several new technologies for processing and interpretating seismic data. He was a core member of a three-man committee for recommending exploration ventures of ONGC both in India and overseas. For the last two years, he has served the Society of Petroleum Geophysicists, India, as its vice president and was also a cochairman of the Technical Committee of Kolkata 2006 and Hyderabad 2008. He continues to serve SPG as the chief editor of its periodical, Geohorizons. He has also worked as director (consulting) at Paradigm Geophysical India, Mumbai, and taught seismic data processing and seismic stratigraphy as a visiting professor in earth sciences at the Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai.

Mehta's research has spanned diverse areas: particle physics, atomic physics, search theory, and geophysics. In geophysics, his work has been in the areas of wave propagation in two-phase media, multiple suppression using wave equation, migration, maximum likelihood deconvolution (MLD) of seismic data, segmentation of well-log data using MLD, seismic facies classification using principle component analysis, seismic detection of basement fractures, extraction of Vp and Vs of sea bottom sediments, directivity correction, and QC of amplitudes for inversion of marine seismic data, etc. He has published several papers in these fields.

Mehta is a 1991 recipient of the prestigious National Mineral Award from the government of India.