[edgenet: the leading edge]
October 2011 Vol. 30, No. 10


President's page

Bob Hardage, President

How new governance would be implemented

Now that the Council has approved new SEG Bylaws, the next step is to submit the Bylaws to a vote of the Active Members. This second step in Bylaws approval is initiated by this editorial column which formally presents the Bylaws for inspection by all Active Members and sets a deadline for completion of the vote by them. The proposed Bylaws, mildly amended during the approval process by the Council from those published in TLE in July, are published in this issue of TLE, along with a short article providing highlights of the proposed changes. Ballots will be mailed to the Active Members on 18 October 2011, and voting will close on 16 December 2011. The remainder of this article describes how the new governance structure would be implemented, assuming the Bylaws are approved.

Setting up the yearly one-third rotation of officers

Table 1 describes which officers on the 2011–2012 Ex­ecutive Committee would remain in office or rotate off to initiate a schedule in which approximately one-third of the Board of Directors steps down each year. The time period "Year 1" in Table 1 is the year between the 2012 Annual Meeting and the 2013 Annual Meeting. The makeup of the Board for Year 1 is based on the assumption that three current members of the 2012 Ex­ecutive Committee will stay in office an additional year beyond the terms for which they were elected under the current Bylaws. These officers are:

  • Bob Hardage (who would stay an additional year to be the first Past-President of the Board)
  • David Monk (who would stay on to be President, an office to which he was elected, then serve an addi­tional year as Past-President of the Board)
  • Richard Miller (who was elected Second Vice Presi­dent but will stay an additional year to be the first First Vice President of the Board)

Tamas Nemeth will stay on as Editor regardless of the outcome of the member vote on the proposed Bylaws because he was elected to a two-year term. To repeat, current officers who would serve longer terms than they were elected to serve are Hardage, Monk, and Miller. Note that nine Board members would need to be elected by Active Members in the next election. If the Bylaws are approved, then when the President-Elect is elected in 2012, we will have set up the rotation for the offices of President-Elect, President, and Past-President. Also, with the election of the Second Vice President in 2012, we will have set up the rotation of the Second Vice Presi­dent and First Vice President.

Note also in Table 1 that, in the 2012 election, two Directors at Large would be elected to three-year terms, two to two-year terms, and two to one-year terms. This would create a situation in which approximately one-third of the Board would step down each year. All Di­rectors at Large elected in subsequent years would serve three-year terms.

Chair of the Council

Only Council members would nominate candidates for the Council Chair, who will be the final member of the Board. Only Council members would vote to select a Chair from this list of candidates. In 2012, this Council election would run in parallel with the election of the nine Board members by Active Members.

Nominations for the Board of Directors

If the proposed Bylaws are approved in December, we would have to move quickly to secure nominations for the Executive Committee/Board of Directors in time for the names to be printed in the April 2012 issue of TLE. This would be a demanding challenge because many more candidates would be required than in the past. So, be prepared because you may be contacted to become a candidate for a Board position. If so, step for­ward and commit. But before you do that, please vote in the historic Bylaws election.

Bob Hardage,

PDF version of this manuscript

View the President's Page in the Digital Edition TLE