Monk to lead SEG

SEG ExCom President-Elect David Monk

David J. Monk, President-Elect of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists for 2011-2012

David J. Monk, director of Geophysics at Apache, has been elected President-elect of the Society of Exploration Geophysics for the 2011-2012 term of office. Monk received a doctorate in physics from Nottingham University in England and has spent his professional career in working in most aspects of seismic acquisition and processing for contracting and oil companies. He is well known in the geophysical community for his technical contributions and has won "best paper" awards from three different geophysical societies including SEG ("best paper" in 1992 and honorable mention in 2005).

Monk, an SEG member for 27 years, was Technical Program Chairman for SEG's 75th Anniversary Meeting in 2005, was Vice President on the 2006-07 Executive Committee, and served as Chairman of SEG Global, Inc. at its formation in 2008. He received SEG Life Membership in 2009. Monk will serve as President-elect on the incoming Executive Committee and will ascend to the Presidency at the conclusion of SEG's 2012 Annual International Meeting.

Others elected to the 2011-12 Executive Committee are William L. Abriel, first vice president; Richard D. Miller, second vice president; Wafik B. Beydoun, vice president; Nancy J. House, secretary-treasurer; and Tamas Nemeth, editor. Monk and the other newly elected officers will assume their roles at the conclusion of the 2011 Annual International Meeting, to be held in San Antonio in September. Bob Hardage, the current President-elect, will assume the SEG Presidency at that time.

View David Monk's Position Statement

Read more about all nominees for the 2011-2012 SEG Executive Committee