Submit your resume

John Louie

Honors and Awards

The SEG Annual Meeting Honors & Awards Ceremony

Sunday, 4 November 2012, 4:30 p.m., Mandalay Bay Ballroom G–H

Leon Thomsen, Chair of the Honors & Awards Committee cordially invites you to attend the SEG 2012 Honors & Awards Ceremony to recognize and to honor talented individuals and organizations that have advanced our science and benefited our Society.

A few of this year's key awards are:

  • Maurice Ewing Medal: George McMechan
  • Honorary Membership: Kurt Marfurt and Mark Zoback
  • Virgil Kauffman Gold Medal: Yu Zhang
  • Cecil Green Enterprise Award: KMS Technologies
  • Reginald Fessenden Award: Xianhuai Zhu and Jie Zhang
  • Life Membership: John Bradford, Frank Brown, and Bob Wyckoff
  • J. Clarence Karcher Award: Jyoti Behura, Pawan Dewangan, and Alison Malcolm
  • Distinguished Achievement: Edinburgh Anisotropy Project
  • Special Commendation: Cezar Iacob

Authors of best papers submitted to Geophysics, The Leading Edge, and the Annual Meeting itself (including poster papers) will be recognized at the invitation-only Editors' Dinner on Monday evening.

Students whose 2011 Annual Meeting papers were selected as best student papers and poster papers will be honored at the SEG Challenge Bowl Finals on Monday afternoon.

SEG will honor its Distinguished Achievement Award winner from the International Science and Engineering Fair at the SEG Foundation luncheon on Monday.